jueves, 14 de febrero de 2008
Machines and men - Creative Writing
Cars are man’s best invention. I do not understand how it is possible that they have only existed two centuries ago. How did they do back then when they needed o get places and transport things? I think horses are excellent and I love riding them but not for three whole days just to get to my farm. Now it takes me 2 hours to get there because of my most precious vehicle. My real passion for cars is not the fact that they transport me but their beauty and their speed. Speed gives me adrenaline which I love and no other motor vehicle gives this sensation. Motorcycles are also an excellent source of adrenaline but they are really dangerous to use in the city. In the countryside motorcycles are the best and they are very entertaining. Either way if had to choose if I had to ride or only ride in one of them for the rest of my life I would choose a car. A car has so many aspects to it that you never get bored. Each time you drive it you get a new feeling and a new reward. Here in Colombia it is kind of stressful to drive because of the taxicabs and buses that invade the road as if it were theirs. It is also very dangerous because they would cut you just to save a few seconds and they pick and drop people off in the middle of the street. They drive as they please so you, which are in the smaller car, have to yield. Anyhow these idiotic drivers will never ruin my ride because I don’t let it affect me. When it does I get enraged and become a very angry driver and my heart starts beating faster and I really don’t like that. Besides as I said on my February 4th rally violence in this country is not only lived on the mountains and jungles but also in Bogota, in your school and in your car. I am going to put my small grain of sand by becoming a better driver, by yielding more often, by driving at regular speeds. I am not going to drive at the specific speed limit because the person who made those does not drive. In the Circunvalar the speed limit is 30 in some places: you would crash if you went at that speed because everybody else goes at 60 or 80. Another thing that really pisses me off is Colombia’s highways. When they become only a two way street you get blocked immediately behind a large truck and you need to pass it because you can’t go 30 km/h all the way to your farm. Because of this we have invented a system in which the lines on the street tell you when you can overpass. The problem is that continuous lines are all over the place so according to the law you are committing an infraction when you pass on a continuous line. Finally when you arrive at a dotted line, the cops are there with their cones checking for speed limit and doing a control. I think every single person on the road detests those men. They only serve the purpose of getting the crazy drivers off the road. A good thing there is in Colombia nowadays is the fact that you can call these men when you are on the road and tell them that there is a man going at 200 km/h and is going to make a stupid mistake and maybe injures those on his way. The only problem to this is that since we are in Colombia nothing happens to these men.
Suscribirse a:
Enviar comentarios (Atom)
No hay comentarios:
Publicar un comentario